Colombian Luis Diaz nominated for Ballon d’Or

Soccer Football - Champions League - Liverpool Training - AXA Training Centre, Liverpool, Britain - February 15, 2022 Liverpool's Luis Diaz during training Action Images via Reuters/Jason Cairnduff
Soccer Football – Champions League – Liverpool Training – AXA Training Centre, Liverpool, Britain – February 15, 2022 Liverpool’s Luis Diaz during training Action Images via Reuters/Jason Cairnduff

the bright 2021-2022 season of the Colombian midfielder Louis Diaz in Europe and with Colombia selection awarded him a place on the list of world football figures nominated for the Ballon D’Or. The peasant player, at the service of the liverpool of englandcompleted a spectacular stage in Europe being champion of the FA Cup and the League Cup with the English team. In addition, in the first part of the season at Porto he scored 16 goals plus another six in the first months of the season. 2022 with the ‘networks‘.

At the national team level, he was the scorer of the Copa America in Brazil 2021 with four goals, along with Lionel Messi. Luis Diaz was chosen as the revelation player of the tournament by the Conmebol. The Colombia selection finished the championship in third place after losing in the semifinals against Argentina, champion in that edition, and beat Peru in the last game of the championship. The awards gala will be held on Monday October 17 in the Theater du Châtelet from Paris

For this edition of the award that honors the best player in the world, according to the magazine French Football, there were four important changes. The most important is that he left to be considered from January to Decemberwhich meant having to count two half seasons. In this way, what was achieved over a season began to be assessed, which will from August 2021 to July 2022.

Luis Díaz nominated for the Ballon d'Or for the first time
Luis Díaz nominated for the Ballon d’Or for the first time

Lists of 30 for men, 20 for women Y 10 for the Kopa Trophies (young player) and Yashin (goalkeeper). “In order to present a selection of suitors as fair, indisputable and relevant as possible, we have acted to change the process,” they warned.

This step will no longer be exclusive to the drafting of France Football and L’Equipe to include other personalities, such as former Ivorian footballer Didier Drogba (He is the Ballon d’Or ambassador). The voters who came closest to guessing the final result will also be added. in the last edition. They were the Vietnamese journalist Truong Anh Ngoc, New Zealander Gordon Watson and Czech Karolina Hlavackova.

Finally, through a note in the diary French L’Equipe They clarified the criteria that will be taken into account to elect the new Ballon D’Or, “the criteria frequently give rise to debates, we thought it appropriate to refresh the hierarchy of the constitutive elements in the vote for greater consistency and clarity.”

They argued that criterion number 1 will focus primarily “on the individual performance and the resolute and impressive nature of the contenders”. Then they stressed that football is a team sport, so the next criterion should be the performance of their club or team. To close, the third item will refer to “the type of player and his sense of fair play. Because setting an example also counts”.

The other players nominated for Ballon D’Or are: Thibout Courtois, Rafael Leão, Christopher Nkunku, Mohamed Salah, Joshua Kimich, Trent Alexander Arnold, Vinicius Jr, Bernardo Silva, Robert Lewandowski, Riyad Mahrez, Casemiro, Heung – Min Son, Fabinho, Karim Benzema, Mike Maignan, Harry Kane, Darwin Núñez, Phil Foden, Sadio Mane, Sebastian Haller, Luka Modrić, Antonio Rudiger, Cristiano Ronaldo, Kevin de Bruyne, Dušan Vlahović, Virgil Van Dijk, Joao Cancelo, Kylian Mbappe and Erling Halaand.

The last Colombian player to be nominated for the important prize was James Rodriguez in 2015 when he played for Real Madrid. The scoring midfielder Brazil 2014 FIFA World Cup he also competed for the award in the year he signed for Real Madrid. Together with him they have been nominated Radamel Falcaowho received the distinction between the team best in 2012. Faustino Asprilla in 1993, 1996 and 1997 together with Óscar Córdoba in 2001 were at the ceremony when the award was called ‘FIFA player‘.

News in development…

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.