Moscow Extends Hostile Nations Checklist

Moscow Extends Hostile Nations Checklist

More European nations now face a cap on diplomatic workers they’re allowed to rent in Russia

Russia prolonged its checklist of hostile states on Friday to incorporate Greece, Denmark, Slovenia, Croatia and Slovakia.

The government has updated the list of foreign states engaged in unfriendly actions against Russian diplomatic and consular missions abroad,” the assertion reads.

The decree imposes restrictions (up to an entire ban) on the nations hiring personnel for his or her embassies, consulates, and consultant places of work of presidency companies in Russia.

Greece has a restrict of 34 individuals, Denmark – 20, Slovakia – 16. “Slovenia and Croatia cannot hire employees for their diplomatic missions and consular institutions,” the federal government mentioned.

Similar restrictions had been imposed on the US and Czech missions in May 2021.

Russian authorities additionally signaled that the checklist was open-ended and will embrace new nations, given “the ongoing hostile actions by foreign states against Russian representative offices abroad.”

Of course, ending up on the list of hostile countries leads to a lower level of contacts… Simply put, the move is based on the unfriendly policies pursued by these states,” Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov mentioned on Friday.

In May, Russian President Vladimir Putin launched a package deal of financial measures meant to retaliate in opposition to worldwide sanctions positioned on Moscow. The move aimed to guard Russia’s nationwide pursuits in response to the unfriendly actions of Western nations to illegally deprive Russian entities of their property, the Kremlin mentioned on the time.

In March, following Russia’s assault on Ukraine and fierce pushback from Western nations, Moscow launched a prolonged checklist of international states that pursue hostile insurance policies in the direction of Russia. All the nations talked about in it, together with the US, the UK, Canada, and EU nations, have slapped sanctions on Russia.

Source link

, ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.