Cross-voting For Murmu Bares Cracks In Opposition Unity

As counting of votes within the Presidential election concluded Thursday, it turned clear that NDA candidate Droupadi Murmu’s spectacular win had additionally been helped by some cross-voting. It was additionally proof of the division and confusion in Opposition ranks over thwarting the primary tribal lady’s bid to occupy the best workplace within the nation.

The ruling BJP claimed that 17 MPs from the 2 Houses of Parliament and 126 MLAs from states defied respective celebration strains and voted for Murmu. Many regional events, regardless of their political reservations towards the BJP, had indicated their willingness to see Murmu in Rashtrapati Bhavan.

She bagged 2824 of the entire 4701 legitimate votes, leaving simply 1877 votes for the Opposition’s Yashwant Sinha.

Murmu secured 64.03 per cent of the entire legitimate votes, lower than what outgoing President Ram Nath Kovind received in 2017 — 65.65 per cent of the entire votes polled. But the divide and bitterness then was the Modi authorities was simply three years into its first time period.

Subscriber Only Stories

According to BJP leaders, 10 MLAs in Gujarat, 22 in Assam, 12 in Uttar Pradesh and four in Goa cross-voted for Murmu. The particulars can be out there solely after a radical evaluation of the state-wise voting sample.

[embedded content]

With Sinha failing to get the anticipated votes, there’s a query mark on Opposition unity. But leaders of Opposition events identified that many amongst them had no alternative besides to face with Murmu to guard their tribal help base.

Murmu secured the help of the whole House in Andhra Pradesh, Nagaland and Sikkim as a result of Sinha drew a clean in these states. She even managed one vote from Kerala, a state the place the BJP couldn’t win a single seat within the Assembly or within the Lok Sabha polls.

In Telangana, a state the place the BJP hopes to emerge instead, the NDA candidate might handle solely three votes whereas Sinha bagged 113 votes.

Presidential Election In Numbers 1

The variety of invalid votes additionally got here down from 77 in 2017 to 53 this election.

While the counting was on, BJP leaders claimed that Murmu would win the election with almost 70 per cent of the votes within the electoral school.

But the BJP and allies shedding energy in key states like Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Tamil Nadu and the drop in its seat tally in Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra and Gujarat appear to have contributed to the autumn within the votes for the NDA candidate. For instance, in 2017, Kovind acquired 166 votes in Rajasthan which dropped to 75; in Tamil Nadu the place its ally AIADMK was defeated by the DMK, it fell from 134 to 75; in Maharashtra, from 280 to 181; in Gujarat, it dropped from 132 to 121; in Madhya Pradesh from 171 to 146; and in Punjab the place the AAP stormed to energy, the NDA candidate might handle solely eight votes as towards 18 in 2017.

Buy Now | Our greatest subscription plan now has a particular worth

In states like West Bengal the place the BJP emerged stronger within the final elections, Murmu received 71 votes — it was simply 11 in 2017. In Karnataka, the tally went up from 56 to 150. In 2017, Kovind had the backing of 522 MPs whereas 540 MPs backed Murmu.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *